Deliberate Practices

Deliberate Practice – Reference Card

The #DeliberatePractices are the path to mastery. And mastery matters as this is the path to intrinsic motivation 1 for the individual and for organizational excellence.

Distinguish between Work, Play, and Deliberate Practices 2

Three types of activity: Work, play, and deliberate practice.

  • Work is extrinsically motivated, and performance stability and predictability (i.e. that you’ll get the job done) are paramount, performance growth is not.
  • Play is intrinsically motivated and pleasurable, but not goal-directed, and not structured to improve performance.
  • Deliberate practice is structured, effortful practice, usually not pleasurable, focused on specific performance bottlenecks.

Not all practices are Deliberates

Ericsson distinguish between three kinds of practices :3:

1- Natural or naive practices e.g. Just playing Tennis

  • doing the same things, your best, again and again .
  • Not trying to change any specific aspect.
  • mindless repetitions

2- Purposeful practices e.g. Practice Serving

  • goal orientation
    • change one aspect at a time
    • knowledge of a gap between where you are and where you want to be . Ideally measurable
  • feedback (to you)

  • reflect on what you could do now (after practices) you could not do before

3- Deliberate practices

  • feedback from a coach / teacher ( someone who has already reached the highest level in that domain 4) ( to stop guessing or experimenting to find the best path to improve)
  • get out of your comfort zone
  • focused , mindful (to)
  • build a mental representation (instead of relying just on intuition or senses) [^maxhug] in order to discriminate between where where you are and where you want to be
  • well-defined, specific goals
  • 4 /5 h max a day 5, or potentially 1-2 h in the morning

Mental Representations

The main purpose of deliberate practice is to develop effective mental representations, and, as we will discuss shortly, mental representations in turn play a key role in deliberate practice.
The key change that occurs in our adaptable brains in response to deliberate practice is the development of better mental representations, which in turn open up new possibilities for improved performance. (P.75) [^maxhug]


Quotes from Various Interviews

ericsson_peak_2016

  • Deliberate practice is purposeful practice that knows where it is going and how to get there.

  • The practice regimen should be designed and overseen by a teacher or coach who is familiar with the abilities of expert performers and with how those abilities can best be developed.

  • Deliberate practice takes place outside one’s comfort zone and requires a student to constantly try things that are just beyond his or her current abilities. Thus it demands near-maximal effort, which is generally not enjoyable.

  • Deliberate practice involves well-defined, specific goals and often involves improving some aspect of the target performance; it is not aimed at some vague overall improvement. Once an overall goal has been set, a teacher or coach will develop a plan for making a series of small changes that will add up to the desired larger change. Improving some aspect of the target performance allows a performer to see that his or her performances have been improved by the training.
  • Deliberate practice is deliberate, that is, it requires a person’s full attention and conscious actions. It isn’t enough to simply follow a teacher’s or coach’s directions. The student must concentrate on the specific goal for his or her practice activity so that adjustments can be made to control practice.

  • Deliberate practice involves feedback and modification of efforts in response to that feedback. Early in the training process much of the feedback will come from the teacher or coach, who will monitor progress, point out problems, and offer ways to address those problems. With time and experience students must learn to monitor themselves, spot mistakes, and adjust accordingly. Such self-monitoring requires effective mental representations.

  • Deliberate practice both produces and depends on effective mental representations. Improving performance goes hand in hand with improving mental representations; as one’s performance improves, the representations become more detailed and effective, in turn making it possible to improve even more. Mental representations make it possible to monitor how one is doing, both in practice and in actual performance. They show the right way to do something and allow one to notice when doing something wrong and to correct it.

  • (incremental / iterative) .Deliberate practice nearly always involves building or modifying previously acquired skills by focusing on particular aspects of those skills and working to improve them specifically; over time this step-by-step improvement will eventually lead to expert performance. Because of the way that new skills are built on top of existing skills, it is important for teachers to provide beginners with the correct fundamental skills in order to minimize the chances that the student will have to relearn those fundamental skills later when at a more advanced level.

Ericsson, Anders. Peak: Secrets from the New Science of Expertise (p. 99). Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Édition du Kindle.

Deliberate Practice: A Guide to Mastery 6

  • Define success and drill deliberately
  • plan, reflect, and take notes
  • go slow
  • limit your sessions for focus
  • maximise practise time
  • track small intervals of improvement
  • emulate practice, not performance
  • repetition makes perfect
  • routine is everything
  • get a coach

maxhug:

Basically that idea, in the same way that musicians, when they’re actually reading a piece of music, they can hear it in their head, and now actually think about, “Well, if I do this. Then it’s going to sound a little bit like that.” So basically, that ability of actually mentally being able to and not being dependent on the immediate experience and basically rely on intuition.

We argue that those representations seem to be the key to identify individuals who are improving because once they fail, they’re able to now try to figure out what they need to change. If you just rely on your intuition and you fail, what do you do? There’s really nothing for you to actively manipulate.

businessinsider

In general, according to Ericsson, deliberate practice involves stepping outside your comfort zone and trying activities beyond your current abilities. While repeating a skill you’ve already mastered might be satisfying, it’s not enough to help you get better. Moreover, simply wanting to improve isn’t enough — people also need well-defined goals and the help of a teacher who makes a plan for achieving them.

Most notably, Ericsson’s work on deliberate practice formed the basis for the “10,000-hour rule” featured in Malcolm Gladwell’s book, “Outliers”: Put in about 10,000 hours of practice, and you’ll become an expert.

Unfortunately, Ericsson says Gladwell misinterpreted his research and that 10,000 hours of merely repeating the same activity over and over again is not sufficient to catapult someone to the top of their field.

When I spoke with Ericsson by phone in May, he told me that people who think practice can only get you so far aren’t talking about the same kind of practice as he is.

Mastery is not IQ

Even intelligence, Ericsson said, is not directly linked to expert performance. In “Peak,” he cites a study by British researchers, which found that intelligence does indeed predict chess skill among children. But when those researchers looked only at kids who were elite chess players, a higher IQ was, in fact, linked to worse skills.

Kids with high IQs learn how to play chess faster — but once their peers catch up, they may no longer have an advantage.

No limits but you

“I’ve been spending now 30 years trying to look for kind of limits that would actually constrain some individuals from being successful in some domain,” Ericsson told me. “And I’m surprised that I’ve yet really to find such limits.”

Effort is not DP

Unless you’re performing exercises that were assigned by a teacher to help you improve in a particular area, Ericsson believes you’re not engaging in deliberate practice. Plenty of practice activities are completely ineffective and won’t lead to improvement, he told me when we spoke again in June.

Beyond the controversy over whether deliberate practice leads directly to expertise, perhaps the insight that struck me most in “Peak” was this: To become an expert, you may need to be willing to sacrifice short-term pleasure for potential satisfaction of success down the road. A key tenet of deliberate practice is that it’s generally not enjoyable.

Instead, it’s about doing things that don’t come naturally or easily, which can be tough. “Practice really involves failing a lot until you eventually reach your goal,” Ericsson told me.

So what’s the downside to becoming an expert? Perhaps it’s that you need to devote yourself wholly to one area — that while one door flies wide open, others slowly creak to a close. Ericsson told me he doesn’t know of anyone who’s become a world-class expert in more than one skill.

That’s why, he said, becoming an expert in anything and placing 100% focus on becoming the best in one domain “may not be basically the right thing here for even the majority of people.”


Tags: #DeliberatePractices


Main Reference:

Ericsson, Karl Anders, and Robert Pool. 2016. Peak: Secrets from the New Science of Expertise. Boston New York: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Other References

[#novak_learning_1984]: Novak, Joseph D., D. Bob Gowin, and Jane Butler Kahle. 1984. Learning How to Learn. 1 edition. Cambridge Cambridgeshire ; New York: Cambridge University Press.


  1. intrinsic motivation includes autonomy mastery and purpose. see [][#pink_drive_2011] 
  2. http://blog.vivekhaldar.com/post/3881908748/tldr-summary-the-role-of-deliberate-practice-in 
  3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MsD3mpvJ3M 
  4. and this means for emergent areas,it may not be that easy to find a coach, potentially none. AE mentions a “highly develop field”, so we know what is success, semi objective ways to measure performance. 
  5. potentially look like a BRAC 
  6. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-sjUoGO250 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Deliberate Practices

Pratique délibérée – Carte de référence

Les Pratiques délibérées (EN:#DeliberatePractices) sont le chemin vers la maîtrise. Et la maîtrise importe, car c’est le chemin pour la motivation intrinsèque 1 pour l’individu, et celle de l’excellence organisationnelle.

Distinction entre travail, jeu, et les pratiques délibérées

Il y a Trois types d’activités: Travail, Jeu et Pratiques délibérées. 2

  • Le travail est motivé extrinsèquement. La stabilité et la prévisibilité des performances sont primordiales (le but c’est que le travail soit fait), la croissance des performances ne l’est pas.
  • Le jeu est motivé intrinsèquement et agréable, mais pas orienté vers un but, et n’est pas structuré afin d’améliorer la performance.
  • La pratique délibérée est :
    • structurée,
    • demande de l’effort,
    • n’est généralement pas agréable,
    • et est axée spécifiquement à améliorer la performance, en travaillant sur les freins 3 à la performance.

Toutes les pratiques ne sont pas délibérées

Ericsson distingue trois types de pratiques: 4:

1- Pratiques naturelles ou naïves par ex: Je joue juste au tennis

La pratique naive, c est:
– Faire la même choses, de son mieux, encore et encore.
– N’essaye pas de changer un aspect spécifique.
– des répétitions, de manière automatique 5

2- Pratiques intentionnelle par ex. pratiquer son service, son coup droit…

  • Dans la Pratique intentionnelle 6, il y a une intention
    • de changer un seul aspect à la fois
    • de re-connaitre l’écart entre où vous êtes et où vous voulez être. Idéalement le mesurer.
  • Il y a du feedback

  • Il y a reflexion à ce qui peut être accompli maintenant (après les pratiques) qui ne pouvait pas être fait avant (qu’est ce qui à été appris).

3- Pratiques délibérées par ex: un stage de tennis, une masterclass …

  • Sortir de sa zone de confort
  • être concentré, attentif, vigilant, conscient.
  • se construire une représentation mentale (au lieu de s’appuyer uniquement sur l’intuition ou les sens) afin de discriminer entre où vous êtes et où vous voulez être
  • feedback d’un coach / enseignant (quelqu’un qui a déjà atteint le plus haut niveau dans ce domaine7)
    • ceci afin d’arrêter de deviner ou d’expérimenter pour trouver la meilleure manière pour s’améliorer
  • les objectifs sont bien définis et précis
  • max 4/5 h par jour 8, ou potentiellement 1-2 h le matin

Les représentations mentales

Le but principal de la pratique délibérée est de développer des représentations mentales efficaces, et, comme nous le verrons bientôt, les représentations mentales jouent un rôle clé dans la pratique délibérée.
Le changement clé qui se produit dans nos cerveaux adaptables en réponse à une pratique délibérée est le développement de meilleures représentations mentales, qui à leur tour ouvrent de nouvelles possibilités pour une meilleure performance. (P.75)

 

Extraits et Citations d’interviews diverses

ericsson_peak_2016

  • La pratique délibérée est une pratique intentionnelle qui sait où elle va et comment y arriver.

  • Le régime d’entraînement devrait être conçu et supervisé par un enseignant ou un coach (entraineur) qui connaît les capacités des meilleurs experts et qui connaît la meilleure manière de les développer.

  • La pratique délibérée nécessite de sortir de la zone de confort et exige que l’élève essaie de manière constante des choses pour dépasser ses capacités actuelles. Ainsi, il exige un effort quasi-maximal, ce qui n’est généralement pas agréable.

  • La pratique délibérée implique des objectifs spécifiques et bien définis , cela implique souvent l’amélioration de la performance cible, aspect après aspects; elle ne vise pas une vague amélioration globale. Une fois que l’objectif global a été fixé, un enseignant ou un entraîneur élaborera un plan consistant en une série de petits changements qui, en s’ajoutant, contribuent au changement plus important souhaité. Monter la performance cible permet aussi au performer de constater que ses performances ont été améliorées par l’entraînement.
  • La pratique délibérée est « délibérée« , c’est-à-dire qu’elle exige la complète attention d’une personne et des actions conscientes. Il ne suffit pas de suivre simplement les instructions d’un enseignant ou d’un entraîneur. L’étudiant doit se concentrer sur l’objectif spécifique à l’activité pratiquée afin que des ajustements puissent être faits pour contrôler la pratique.

  • La pratique délibérée implique du feedback et une modification des efforts en réponse à ces feedbacks. Au début du processus de formation, la plupart des commentaires proviendront de l’enseignant ou de l’entraîneur, qui suivra les progrès, signalera les problèmes et offrira des moyens de régler ces problèmes. Avec le temps et l’expérience, les élèves doivent apprendre à se surveiller eux-mêmes, repérer les erreurs et s’adapter en conséquence. Une telle autosurveillance nécessite des représentations mentales efficaces.

  • La pratique délibérée produit et dépend à la fois de représentations mentales efficaces. L’amélioration de la performance va de pair avec l’amélioration des représentations mentales; à mesure que la performance s’améliore, les représentations deviennent plus détaillées et plus efficaces, permettant à son tour de s’améliorer encore plus. Les représentations mentales permettent de surveiller comment on fait, à la fois dans la pratique et dans l’acte réel. Ils montrent la bonne façon de faire quelque chose et permettent de remarquer quand on fait quelque chose incorrectement et de le corriger.

  • (incrémental / itératif). La pratique délibérée implique presque toujours de construire ou de modifier des compétences déjà acquises en se concentrant sur des aspects particuliers de ces compétences et de travailler à les améliorer spécifiquement. Au fil du temps, cette amélioration étape par étape mènera éventuellement à la performance expertes. En raison de la façon dont les nouvelles compétences sont construites sur des compétences existantes, il est important que les enseignants fournissent aux débutants les compétences fondamentales correctes afin de minimiser les chances que l’étudiant dusse réapprendre ces compétences fondamentales plus tard, lorsqu’il est à un niveau plus avancé.

Ericsson, Anders. Peak: Secrets de la nouvelle science de l’expertise (p.99) Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Édition du Kindle.

Sur les Représentations mentales

En gros, de la même manière que les musiciens, quand ils lisent un morceau de musique, ils peuvent l’entendre dans leur tête, et maintenant penser à « Eh bien, si je fais ça, ça va sonner un peu comme ça. « Donc, fondamentalement, cette capacité de réellement mentalement être capable de ne pas dépendre de l’expérience immédiate et de s’appuyer essentiellement sur l’intuition.

Nous soutenons que ces représentations semblent être la clé pour identifier les personnes qui s’améliorent parce qu’une fois qu’elles échouent, elles peuvent maintenant essayer de comprendre ce qu’elles doivent changer. Si vous comptez seulement sur votre intuition et que vous échouez, que faites-vous? Il n’y a vraiment rien pour vous à manipuler activement.

[maxhug]

Pratique délibérée: un guide vers la maîtrise 9

  • Définir ce que serait le succès et s’entrainer délibérément
  • Planifier, réfléchir et prendre des notes
  • Allez -y lentement
  • Limitez la durée des sessions pour garder le focus
  • Maximiser le temps de pratique
  • Suivre l’amélioration par petits intervalles ( des petits pas)
  • émuler la pratique, pas la performance
  • La répétition rend parfait
  • Routiniser est la clé du succès
  • Trouver un coach

Interview dans BusinessInsider

En général, selon Ericsson, la pratique délibérée implique de sortir de votre zone de confort et d’essayer des activités au-delà de vos capacités actuelles. Bien que répéter une compétence que vous maîtrisez déjà puisse être satisfaisant, ce n’est pas suffisant pour vous aider à vous améliorer. De plus, vouloir simplement s’améliorer ne suffit pas – les gens ont aussi besoin d’objectifs bien définis et de l’aide d’un enseignant qui prépare un plan pour les atteindre.

Plus particulièrement, le travail d’Ericsson sur la pratique délibérée a formé la base de la «règle des 10 000 heures» décrite dans le livre de Malcolm Gladwell, «Outliers»: Environ 10 000 heures de pratique, et vous deviendrez un expert.

Malheureusement, Ericsson dit que Gladwell a mal interprété ses recherches et que 10 000 heures de répétition de la même activité ne suffisent pas à catapulter quelqu’un au sommet de son domaine.

Quand j’ai parlé à Ericsson par téléphone en mai, il m’a dit que les gens qui pensent que la simple pratique (naive ou intentionnelle) peut vous amener aussi loin ne parlent pas du même genre de pratique que lui.

La maîtrise, ce n’est pas le QI

Même l’intelligence, a dit Ericsson, n’est pas directement liée à la performance des experts. Dans « Peak », il cite une étude réalisée par des chercheurs britanniques, qui ont découvert que l’intelligence prédisait effectivement les compétence au jeu d’échecs chez les enfants. Mais lorsque ces chercheurs ne s’intéressaient qu’aux enfants qui étaient des joueurs d’élite, un QI plus élevé était, en fait, lié à de moins bonnes compétences.

Les enfants ayant un QI élevé apprennent à jouer aux échecs plus rapidement – mais une fois que leurs pairs ont rattrapé leur retard, ils n’ont plus d’avantage.

La seule limite, c’est toi

« J’ai passé 30 ans à essayer de trouver des limites qui empêcheraient certaines personnes de réussir dans certains domaines », m’a dit Ericsson. « Et je suis surpris de ne pas avoir vraiment trouvé de telles limites. »

Les Pratique délibérées, ce n’est pas juste l’Effort

À moins que vous n’effectuiez des exercices qui vous ont été confiés par un coach pour vous aider à progresser dans un domaine particulier, Ericsson estime que vous ne pratiquez pas de manière délibérée. Beaucoup d’activités de pratiques sont complètement inefficaces et ne mèneront pas à l’amélioration, m’a-t-il dit lorsque nous avons parlé à nouveau en juin.

Au-delà de la controverse sur la question de savoir si la pratique délibérée mène directement à l’expertise, l’idée qui m’a le plus frappé dans «Peak» était la suivante: Pour devenir un expert, vous devez être prêt à sacrifier le plaisir à court terme pour bénéficier du succès plus tard. Un principe clé de la pratique délibérée est que ce n’est généralement pas agréable.

Au lieu de cela, il s’agit de faire des choses qui ne viennent pas naturellement ou facilement, ce qui peut être difficile. « Pratiquer implique vraiment de beaucoup échouer jusqu’à ce que vous atteigniez votre but, » m’a dit Ericsson.

La Dédication

Alors, quel est l’inconvénient de devenir un expert? Peut-être que vous avez besoin de vous consacrer entièrement à un domaine – et que pendant qu’une porte s’ouvre en grand, d’autres se ferment lentement, en grincant. Ericsson m’a dit qu’il ne connaissait pas quelqu’un qui est devenu un expert de classe mondiale dans plus d’une compétence.

C’est pourquoi, a-t-il dit, devenir un expert dans quoi que ce soit et se concentrer à 100% sur le fait de devenir le meilleur dans un domaine « n’est peut-être pas la meilleure chose pour la majorité des gens. »


Tags: #DeliberatePractices


 

Référence principale:

 Ericsson, Karl Anders et Robert Pool. 2016. Peak: Secrets de la nouvelle science de l’expertise. Boston New York: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Le Papier original d’Eriksson en 1993 en ligne

Autres références

Novak, Joseph D., D. Bob Gowin, and Jane Butler Kahle. 1984. Learning How to Learn. 1 edition. Cambridge Cambridgeshire ; New York: Cambridge University Press.

businessinsider: http://www.businessinsider.fr/us/anders-ericsson-how-to-become-an-expert-at-anything-2016-6

https://www.infoq.com/articles/drive-productive-workplace

Maxhug: https://www.maxhug.com/interview-anders-ericsson-on-deliberate-practice-the-10000-heure-rule/

Pratique délibérée: Guide vers La maîtrise: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-sjUoGO250


  1. la motivation intrinsèque inclut la maîtrise, l’autonomie et le but (clair). voir [][#pink_drive_2011] 
  2. vivekhaldar: http://blog.vivekhaldar.com/post/3881908748/tldr-summary-the-role-of-deliberate-practice-in 
  3. EN:Bottleneck 
  4. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MsD3mpvJ3M 
  5. EN:mindless 
  6. EN:Purposeful 
  7. et cela signifie que pour les zones émergentes, il se peut qu’il ne soit pas facile de trouver un coach, voire potentiellement aucun. AE mentionne un «domaine hautement développé», ou nous savons donc ce qu’est le succès, et nous disposons des moyens semi-objectifs pour mesurer la performance. 
  8. cela pourrait potentiellement ressembler à un BRAC 
  9. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-sjUoGO250 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email